Tom Ayala, Frank Vandekerckhove, and Marty Anderson
By Ryan Wolfington

After playing through unpredictable weather conditions, the competitors at the Las Vegas Open Wheelchair Tournament completed play on Sunday.

This year’s 34 players represented 5 states (NV, AZ, CA, OR, UT) and competed in four different categories. Although women have their own division, this year all elected to play in the men’s divisions.

"USTA-Nevada is proud to sponsor this event and we applaud Frank for all his efforts to keep this tradition alive," said Tim Blenkiron President of USTA-Nevada.

Sal Harimzada, Frank Vandekerckhove, and Billhite

A full list of the finals can be found below:

Open Singles - Marsten Anderson defeated John Ryan 6/3 6/2

A Singles - Joaquin Picazo defeated Rafael Zamarripa 7/5 7/5

B Singles - Lylah Bradford defeated Michelle Mapstead 4/6 7/5 6/2

C Singles - Ahmad Karimzada defeated Rob Hanly 6/4 6/4

Open Doubles - M. Anderson/T. Ayala defeated D. Quintana/D. Buck 6/1 6/4

C Doubles - B. Willhite/A. Karimzada defeated R. Hanly/M. Jones 6/4 6/3
Lylah Bradford, B Singles Winner

Las Vegas Wheelchair Tennis is in its third year of existence. Las Vegas has 10 active players and another five children who consistently practice. For more information call Frank on 702-328-5545

DTC WINS PRESTIGIOUS AWARD - The City of Las Vegas Darling Tennis Center scored the Public Park of the Year Award from the Racquet Sports Industry magaszine in the publication's January 2010 issue.

This was the magazine's ninth annual Champions of Tennis Awards, aimed to honor people and organizations dedicated to improving the sport and business of tennis. DTC received praise for outstanding service, economic development and development of tennis in the community.

The magazine article can be found below:
Stadium Court action in the A Doubles final
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort and Spa
Tivoli Village
Tennis Warehouse

Click here to find out more!